How to choose accounting software for a UAE business
Six systems compared from their own websites: price, Arabic, VAT, e-invoicing, payroll and stock. We make Xrero; judge our column too.
Xrero: AED 99 per user a month (AED 83 annual) · set-up from AED 2,999 · 15-day trial, no card
Get a price for your company
Four short fields. A person in Dubai replies on WhatsApp the same working day.
Thank you, we have your request.
A person in Dubai replies on WhatsApp the same working day. In a hurry? Message us now.
WhatsApp us
Measure each system against your own month
Every system here sends a VAT invoice. They differ in price, Arabic, payroll, stock and set-up.
- Write your must-haves before any demo
- Compare a full year, not one month
- Test it on your own numbers
Tick what you need. See which systems fit.
Scored only from what each vendor says on its own website.
Six systems, ten questions, one date
On a phone or tablet, tap a name to put any system next to ours.
We make Xrero. We wrote down only what each vendor says on its own website, including where others do something we do not.
| What to check | Xreroour system | Zoho Books | Xero | QuickBooks Online | Wafeq | TallyPrime |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price on the website | AED 99 per user a month; AED 83 annual; set-up optional from AED 2,999 | Free plan up to AED 200,000 revenue; paid from AED 60 a month (yearly) | From USD 7 a month; Starter USD 29, USD 32 from 1 Nov 2026 | From AED 77.12 a month, billed in US dollars | From AED 57 a month (yearly) or AED 69 monthly | Silver AED 2,340 once + AED 842 a year after year one; or AED 78 a month |
| What the price counts | Each person who logs in | The organisation; 3 to 15 users included by plan | The organisation; plans limit invoices and bills | The organisation; 1 to 25 users by plan | The organisation; users unlimited | A licence per PC; Gold is multi-user on one office network |
| Free trial | 15 days, no card | 14 days | 30 days | 30 days | 14 days, no card | Check with the vendor |
| Where it runs | Any browser; own-server licence also available | Any browser | Any browser | Any browser | Any browser | Windows PC; cloud hosting sold separately, from AED 63 per user a month |
| Arabic | Interface and bilingual invoices | Arabic interface | English interface; VAT return in Arabic | Arabic interface | Interface, invoices and reports | Bilingual invoices; Arabic display |
| VAT 201 return | Built from posted entries; you file on EmaraTax | Filed to EmaraTax from the system | Prepared for upload to EmaraTax | UAE VAT return form | Generated automatically | Filed with EmaraTax |
| Corporate tax | From the same books | From the Professional plan | Not stated | Not stated | Listed on every plan | Not stated |
| UAE e-invoicing | Ready for the UAE e-invoicing rollout | Says it is a Ministry-accredited provider; add-on | Through a partner provider, no extra cost | Not stated | Says it is a Ministry-accredited provider; included | Its pages differ; check with the vendor |
| Payroll with a WPS file | Same system, SIF from the approved run | Separate product (Zoho Payroll) | No UAE payroll | Not stated | Payroll on Premium; WPS file not stated | Payroll with SIF file |
| Stock | Warehouses and reorder rules | From the Professional plan | Up to 4,000 items | Not stated | On Premium | Yes |
Read on each vendor's own website on 12 October 2026. "Not stated" means we could not find it on their pages, not that it is missing. Prices exclude VAT; vendors change them, so confirm before you buy.
Sources: Zoho Books · Xero · QuickBooks · Wafeq · TallyPrime
Three common starting points
A handful of invoices a month
If you only send invoices and file VAT, an accounting-only tool with a free or low entry plan is enough. You can move later.
Desktop habits, one office
TallyPrime is quick for keyboard entry and runs on a Windows PC. Plan how people outside the office will reach it.
The whole business in one place
When payroll, stock, sales and the books must agree every month, one system saves the retyping between four.

Your own table beats any comparison page.
This one included.

Count the whole year, not the monthly price
A low plan grows with users, payroll and e-invoicing. Add up the first year.
- The plan you will need by month six
- Add-ons and separate products, priced
- Set-up: your hours or the vendor's fee
Where an accounting system earns its keep
Statement lines matched to invoices, bills and till takings; VAT flows to the return.
| Date | Statement line | AED | Matched to | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 08 Oct | TT IN AL SAFA BLDG MAT | +18,375.00 | INV/2026/0412 | Matched |
| 08 Oct | POS SETTLEMENT 0821 | +6,240.50 | POS/2026/1388 | Matched |
| 09 Oct | DEWA DUBAI | −2,915.00 | BILL/2026/0237 | Matched |
| 09 Oct | CHQ 000214 GULF STEEL | −12,600.00 | BILL/2026/0241? | 1 suggestion |
| 10 Oct | CARD CHG ETISALAT | −399.00 | - | To review |
One price per user, every app included
AED 83 per user a month on the annual plan.
- Accounting, VAT 201 and corporate tax
- Payroll with the WPS file, stock and point of sale
- Invoices in Arabic and English
- Your own workspace and database, backed up twice a day
Our team configures the system, moves in your data and trains your staff. Paid once.
See pricing in detail →Common questions
Which one is cheapest?
For one person with few invoices, Zoho Books has a free plan up to AED 200,000 revenue and Xero Lite is USD 7 a month. For a team with payroll and stock, add up the whole year.
What about UAE e-invoicing?
Zoho Books and Wafeq say they are accredited providers, Xero works through a partner provider, and Xrero is ready for the UAE e-invoicing rollout. Ask each how invoices reach the network.
Is Xrero the same as Xero?
No. Xrero (X-R-E-R-O) is a Dubai company; Xero (X-E-R-O) is a New Zealand company. The names differ by one letter and the companies are unrelated.
Can we move from Tally, QuickBooks, Zoho or Excel?
Yes. Our set-up moves in your customers, suppliers, items and opening balances and trains your team. Optional, from AED 2,999.

